top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

Up In The Air

Up In The Air

April 30, 2020

This is one of my graduation pictures, taken right outside my house.

I had not realized how much I needed closure until today, when I saw myself standing in my cap and gown, but without any of the people who have made this journey memorable.


For 14 years, I have studied in the same school. I watched it grow as I grew, too. In this school, my friends became family. We all developed dreams and began to pursue them. Each one of them was an undeniable part of my growth. Teachers came and went, leaving their marks on my life, some imperceptibly, but others significantly. Every step of the way has a place in my story.


However, now the next chapter in that story is laced with uncertainty. We do not know what will happen tomorrow. We are forced to give up all our expectations for the Spring Play, the Senior Play, the senior banquet, and most importantly, graduation. We feel like our senior year was ripped out of our hands unexpectedly, and we are left staring at our bare hands.


Just like the picture, where my cap is in the air, I feel like our year was launched up in the air and we are stuck in the snapshot, never seeing it fall to the ground, marking the end of an era.


For a class who expected greatness, these news were abrupt and devastating. When the school year started, we wanted to be a class that stood out—a class everyone would remember. Though we wanted to be remembered, it was not for this reason.


In spite of this, the class of 2020 is resilient. We will grow from this experience and we will find closure at our own pace. For me being able to see my cap on the ground marked the end of an era for me, allowing me to feel at peace with having an ending, even though it was not the one I expected.


As I find myself being launched into my future without the closure I expected, I can either stay stuck in the past or walk into my future confidently. Instead of feeling out of breath, I’m going to spread my wings and fly. I hope the rest of the class of 2020 can decide to do the same.


My prayer for this season is for closure and hearts to heal. Many people are unfairly blaming this on God. Though it might be a difficult time, God is standing right beside us. So many high school and college seniors will never get what the classes before them have gotten, so they feel like something has been taken from them. Please pray that the people who are struggling emotionally or spiritually may find their peace in God. Please pray that God will provide for the people whose needs are not being met.


If you are one of these people, please reach out to someone who can help. If you can help someone else, do so! Let us take this time to be God’s hands and feet. I encourage you to find spaces to connect, whether it is through a coffee on Zoom or a quick text message. Finally, be aware of your emotions, acknowledge them, and let them go. What we are going through right now is only temporary, but Jesus is eternal.

Yours truly,

Isa



Goodbye, senior year! I'm ready to fly!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page