top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

Radiant

Radiant

January 31, 2021



"You look radiant."


My van monitor told me this one day over a year ago, and it really stuck with me. When she told me that, I wasn't wearing any makeup, my hair was messy, and I was in sweatpants and my school uniform shirt. I had woken up like 20 minutes before getting on the van! So what was it, I wondered, that made me look radiant?


She then asked me if I was in love, and I vehemently shook my head. Now, however, I realize that I am in love. I'm in love with Jesus. This is what makes me radiant.


Soon after I came to this conclusion, a verse came to my mind. "They looked to Him and were radiant." (Psalms 34:5)


Loking at my beloved makes me radiant. But the verse continues to say "and they were not ashamed."


Now that was something I struggled with. I don't know about you, but I've been ashamed of everything I can imagine, whether it is good or bad. I have been ashamed of my very radiance, toning it down so I don't "offend" others or hurt their feelings.


I have hidden my light under the pretext of humility. I have hidden my love for Jesus and the gifts and talents He has bestwed on me. I have been afraid to speak, to take up space, to laugh too loudly, to be "annoying," believing the lie that it is more Christlike to remain hidden and unseen.


How ridiculous is that?


It is much more beautiful to be radiant.


We get to reflect God's light to the world. Why would we hide it under a basket (Matthew 5:15)? We are children of light (1 Thessalonians 5:5), so we should walk as children of light.


My prayer is that this will be encouraging to you no matter what season of life you are in. Maybe you are radiant and trying to hide it, or maybe you feel like you need to fall back in love with Jesus. Regardless of what you are experiencing, I know that you will find the light. I pray that the church of Christ will radiate God's love to the world, pushing out the darkness and bringing His kingdom to Earth. I pray that the Spirit of God will drive out any shame and any lies that the enemy has planted in your mind and heart.


I encourage you to shine your light to the world, because if you don't, the rocks shall cry out (Luke 19:40). I know what it feels like to feel ashamed to share the Gospel, but those are lies the enemy is using to keep you quiet and complacent. You don't have to be an evangelist to share the Gospel! You can show Christ to people through your life and your love, and people will ask what you have that is different. Be faithful, be a good friend, a good neighbor, a good family member. Your testimony will draw people to Jesus.

Yours truly,

Isa

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page