top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

My Parents

My Parents

May 7, 2020

Aren't they the cutest?

Today is my father’s birthday, and on Sunday, it’s Mother’s Day. It’s a wonderful time to honor them for who they are and for what they have done for me and for others.


My dad is my best friend. He gets what I mean and I get what he means. He makes me laugh with his dumb jokes and he listens to me when I cry. Every year on my birthday, he wakes me up with a serenade. He has taught me so much about the Bible, but he has also taught me how to study it for myself and make my relationship with God personal. My dad is wise, patient, and sincere. He is a peacemaker. He embodies the phrase “still waters run deep,” as he thinks profoundly but remains quiet, listening to what others have to say before revealing his complex insight.


My mother is my inspiration. She is intelligent and creative. She can balance a million things and still find time and love to care for her family. She gives herself wholeheartedly into her projects, doing the best and more. She is strong, having faced some of the darkest moments with grace and forgiveness towards those who have hurt her. My mother is resilient. She represents the saying “the flower that blooms in adversity is the most rare and beautiful of all.” My mom is that flower in adversity, a true Proverbs 31 woman.


Together, they have shown me the meaning of true friendship, teamwork, and effective problem resolution. They have exemplified a marriage that mirrors God’s relationship with the church.


Now, I know that many people haven’t had the blessing of having parents like mine. I also acknowledge that they are not perfect. However, I want to take the time to appreciate them and remember every good thing that I love about them, as a reminder for when we are far apart.


I hope that no matter how your parents have been, you can love them and forgive them for any harm that they did to you. I pray that God may restore your soul and help you to honor them.


My prayer for this season is for the hearts of children to be restored to their parents, as it says in Malachi 4:6. I pray that people whose parents have hurt them will be restored, and I pray for the children who don’t have parents to find a home.


If your relationship with your parents isn’t very good, I encourage you to forgive them in your heart, or ask forgiveness if you have caused them harm or dishonor. If you have a good relationship with your parents, then consider lifting them up and saying something kind. I promise, they will appreciate it and remember it.

Yours truly,

Isa



103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page