top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

Halfway Point

Halfway Point

July 2, 2020


We have officially passed the halfway point of 2020a year that looks nothing like I expected it to. Before this year began, I felt incredibly hopeful about it. Twenty-twenty seemed like a magical year, rolling off my tongue like bubbles off the wand. Little did I know, my expectations for the year would burst just like them.


Now, even though that image appears to be negative, "bursting expectations" are not necessarily a bad thing. After the first half of the year has passed by, my expectations have simply changed. Though the lessons that I have learned are drastically different from those I expected to learn, they are just as valuable.


Even though I am thankful for the lessons I have been learning this year, they have been hard ones. they have stretched me in ways that I had never noticed and challenged me in areas I thought I was doing well in. These types of lessons are ones I typically feel the need to process on my own, so I have not been consistent in documenting them on my little corner of the Internet.


As you might have noticed from my radio silence, it has been very difficult to write these days. I have been feeling so overwhelmed by everything going on in the world, and it has felt very daunting to write about those situations with eloquence and authenticity. However, it takes discipline to keep up with this blog, to connect with my friends and family, and to practice my writing to grow and become better.


For the first time in awhile, I wanted to write today. No matter how out-of-practice or mediocre I felt, I wanted to produce somethingto place a pushpin to mark this moment in time. I want to be disciplined about writing here, not just because it's something I enjoy that keeps my mind sharp, but also because it keeps me accountable.


I have discovered that the nature of this blog is to be a sort of public diary which marks important moments in my life and lessons I've learned, simultaneously a creative outlet and a spot for accountability. If you're reading this, then I'm so thankful for the impact you've had on my life. It means so much to me that you take some time to read what I am writing.


As has become tradition, I'll end by sharing a prayer and encouragement for this time. It's not always the easiest part from me to write, but it reminds me of the importance of doing everything in prayer, and my purpose of encouraging each one of my readers as the church, and as my family.


My prayer for this "halfway point" of 2020 is that we will reflect on the lessons that God has taught us, regardless of whether they were expected or unexpected, pleasant or difficult. I pray that these lessons will give us the wisdom and strength to finish this year trusting in God wholeheartedly even more than we used to.


I encourage you to spend even more time in God's word, finding comfort in the fact that His love endures forever, and He is our anchor in the storm. May the rest of this year be a blessing for you and everyone you love. Though they may be unexpected, God will provide what you need just as He has done in the past. I love you all!

Yours truly,

Isa

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page