top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

Growing Pains

Updated: Nov 18, 2019


This song reminds me of my childhood.


Growing Pains


October 20, 2019

(You can click through to see all the pictures)


When I was little, every time my dad found he had a gray hair he would pluck it and put it in my hand. He would wrap my small, chubby hands around it, hiding it completely. It was as if somehow, he was magically turning back time. Now, if he plucked out every gray hair even more would come to replace it. My dad is not the only one who has aged. I have grown so much as well. Today, I turn eighteen. Although eighteen is a sentimental number in the sense that it doesn’t mark a pivotal change, it feels like the end of an era.This year does not just mark the end of my childhood. It marks the last year in this decade. Next year, the 20's begin. I have lived in two decades. Though that might not seem like a lot to older people, it's all I have lived, so it is a lot to me.


As I was looking through old pictures and reminiscing on my childhood, I was filled with nostalgia. I wonder if I will feel the same many years in the future when I think back on being a teenager or young adult. Not long ago, I was listening to a podcast where Dan Gilbert, an American philantropist, says, “human beings are works in progress that mistakenly think they’re finished.” It’s so hard to think about how much we will change in ten years, but it is easier to remember how different we were ten years in the past. This leads us to believe the person we are right now is the person we will always be. However, I know that I will continue to change just as I’ve changed so much in these eighteen years, but there are things that I want to keep.


Jesus said that the kingdom of heaven belongs to those with childlike hearts. I want to remain with a heart like a child— no matter the time that passes or how old I grow, so here’s eighteen things I never want to lose:

  1. Childlike wonder

  2. Standing up again after falling

  3. Telling stories and laughing

  4. Innocence

  5. Dreaming without limits

  6. Enjoying the simple things in life

  7. Deep respect, admiration, and love for my parents

  8. Love for my sisters

  9. Having a pure heart

  10. Boundless creativity

  11. Falling asleep easily

  12. Compassion for strangers

  13. Believing in myself

  14. Feeling all my emotions fearlessly

  15. Believing my intuition and what the Holy Spirit shows me

  16. Making friends from strangers easily

  17. Loving people without being afraid of getting hurt

  18. A stubborn attitude when people want to make me betray my principles

Though I don’t fit in my parent's arms anymore, my baby teeth are long gone, and I am almost done with school, I am still a work in progress. I will always be a work in progress, and that is both encouraging and challenging. I hope I will learn as much in my next eighteen years as I have learned in the previous eighteen, and even more. I hope I will meet new people and strengthen my relationships with the ones I already know. I pray I will always be daringly dependent on God and fearlessly loving and compassionate towards others.


I encourage you to keep seeing your growth in the little things. You are still being shaped like a work of art. You are a work in progress, and your process is beautiful. Keep the good things you have learned in a bag for the journey, and keep your memories as a fire that will warm your heart in moments of solitude or pain. Everything changes, and you do, too. A new decade is coming, and though you are changing day by day, you might find surprises awaiting you soon.

Yours truly,

Isa


Cheers to eighteen!


62 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page