top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

First Day of (Not) School

First Day of (Not) School

August 13, 2020


First day of school in pandemic times.


I was so used to saying when my "first day of school" was going to be. I told all my school stories in present tense. Now, that stage of my life is over, and a new one is beginning.


However, it doesn't look like I expected at all. If coronavirus had never existed, I would be currently in Arkadelphia, Arkansas, starting university at Ouachita Baptist University. I am still starting university at OBU, but I can't be on campus just yet. I have made a lot of friends from OBU over the summer, and I've got to admit that it slightly saddens me to see how they are all moving in and having fun together while I am still struggling to obtain my student visa.


Even though most of my peers are experiencing newfound independence and diving into a new stage of life, I know that God has me exactly where I am for a reason. I am starting university classes next Monday, but my sisters started school this Monday. Every day, I walk them to a friends house, where I help them complete their classes and tasks for virtual school. Every day, I get to greet my parents good morning and kiss them goodnight. I know that everyone who is currently at OBU doesn't get to do that, so I treat it as a privilege, even though I felt emotionally ready to leave.


I am also helping my sisters' two friends with virtual school, and by doing this I am getting paid and saving up for needs that I may have in the States. Furthermore, through this small job I am also practicing the skills I need to be a teacher and observing how teachers have responded creatively to the pandemic situation while still teaching with excellence.


I would have never imagined that I would find myself in Colombia, doing university work from another family's couch. Though it is certainly strange and unexpected, I know that God already knew that this is how it was going to be, and that this would be the best place for me to be at the moment.


I am still planning on going to the US as soon as I can, so please be praying that the embassy opens soon so I can get my visa and travel. Travel restrictions are meant to be lifted on September 1st, so please pray that the government will keep their word. Lastly, I care deeply about how my country is doing during this crisis, and coronavirus has simply widened the divide between the rich and the poor, making the conditions more unequal. Many people don't have access to proper healthcare, so they have died without any treatment. Finally, economically the country in not doing well at all, especially small businesses. Please pray that God will have mercy on Colombia and bring healing and restoration, not just from COVID-19, but from the division and hate that has kept us in decline for so long.


I appreciate your prayers and support more than you know. i am so glad you are a part of my life.


I encourage you to stay strong. I know this year has not looked like we want it to at all, but we serve a faithful God who is shaping us through this trial. He knows what is best for us and is molding our hearts like clay in his hands. He wants good for us, and therefore this situation is good.


I pray that you will find peace in the knowledge that God is in control of this situation and is using t for your benefit. May you become a more compassionate, determined, faithful, and generous through this trial. May God protect you from illness and bless you in evey endeavor.

Yours truly,

Isa

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page