top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Bejarano

Doors

Updated: Nov 18, 2019


Please listen to the song while you read the post!



Doors


August 23, 2019

One of the most gorgeous doors I spotted during my trip to Cartagena this summer.

This summer I traveled to Cartagena with my family. This city is one of Colombia’s most famous tourist destinations. It has been the door to commerce in South America for over five hundred years because of its unique geography and history. It is a city that has maintained its colonial architecture and warm, vibrant community for centuries. When I look back on my summer vacations it is easy to see how much this city taught me.


As I walked through the historical streets of Cartagena, I could not help being intensely drawn to the doorways that decorated my stroll. There were doors of all types: large, imposing, colorful, small, open, closed, and many more. These doors are full of untold stories and exciting possibilities—they are the perfect vessels for imagination to flourish. As I took this in, I think it was inevitable for me to wonder what lay behind those mysterious, beautiful doors.


Those streets I walked in Cartagena, scattered with doors which filled me with wonder and curiosity are extremely similar to the streets I am walking in the path of my life right now.

I am just starting my senior year, and life feels full of possibilities. I will be a legal adult in a few months and milestones seem to be coming towards me with lightning speed. Though this feels exciting, it also feels nerve-wracking. Questions and insecurities come to my mind all the time, “Where should I study? What should I study? Will I have the money? Is this God’s purpose for my life, or am I making a decision that will haunt my life forever? Is this God’s voice or just what I want for my life?”


As time passes, I realize that these possibilities are nothing but doors. There is no “right” door for me to walk through, although each door will lead to a different outcome and a different story. I will not ruin God’s purpose for my life if I walk through the wrong door because He has written His plan for my life since before I was born. I cannot ruin it, Satan cannot ruin it, nobody can ruin it. Even when I cannot see what He is doing, I believe He is working behind those doors. Just as I admired the beauty of the streets in Cartagena, I shall admire the journey where I’m at. I don’t have to rush things. I can take the time to admire the beauty all around me in this new season.


This is a season believing beyond what I see and believing that I can still be filled with joy instead of anxiety in the midst of uncertainty. There is so much ahead but there is so much around me, too. My prayer for this season is for God to open my eyes to the beauty He is working in me and around me. May my heart be an open space for Him to come and have His way. May I be filled with confidence in the decisions I have to make.

I encourage you to open your own door and walk into a new season confidently. You are not missing out on what God meant for you. You will not thwart His perfect plans. Open your heart and your eyes and look at what God is doing all around you in the midst of uncertainty. He is working in you and around you.

Yours truly,

Isa


I did not plan this blog post when I took this picture, but it's very fitting! I'm embracing the doors of opportunity.

129 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Word of the Year

December 30, 2021 You may have heard of the “Word of the Year” New Year’s Tradition. The New York Times and Dictionaries such as the Oxford Language Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, and others select a wo

A Raw Update

A Raw Update October 15, 2021 To be honest, I have been thinking about what to write for the past couple months, and I have felt paralyzed. My struggles have seemed too personal to share as I still wr

bottom of page